Friday, May 22, 2009

Manmohan to be sworn-in as Indian PM today

Updated at: 0704 PST, Friday, May 22, 2009

NEW DELHI: Dr. Manmohan Singh will be sworn-in as India's Prime Minister second consecutive term on Friday, May 22, in New Delhi.

Dr. Singh is armed with the support of 322 MPs, including those of the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

The oath-taking ceremony of the new UPA government will be held at the Central Hall of Rashtrapati Bhawan (Presidential Palace). The President will administer Oaths of Office and Secrecy.

The council of ministers is likely to be dominated by the Congress who has won 200 seats alone, is expected to keep the key cabinet portfolios, after the party's election sweep. The outgoing council of ministers had 78 members comprising 30 cabinet ministers, eight ministers of state with independent charge and 40 ministers of state or junior ministers.

Indian President having satisfied herself, on the basis of various letters of support received, that the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) alliance, which is also the largest pre-election alliance, is in a position to command majority support of the newly constituted 15th Lok Sabha and to form a stable Government, appointed Dr. Manmohan Singh as the Prime Minister and requested him to indicate the members of the new Council of Ministers.

Earlier, Manmohan Singh and Congress president Sonia Gandhi met the president at Rashtrapati Bhavan Wednesday evening to stake claim to form government.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Word of the Day

Article of the Day

This Day in History

Today's Birthday

In the News